Thread: Help me diagnose where my coolant leak is coming from?

Default Help me diagnose where my coolant leak is coming from?

Ok gang, total jeep newbie here.

I just got my WJ, 1999 Grand Cherokee Laredo, 4.0L engine, a few weeks ago, and first off... I LOVE IT, but it did come with a couple of small issues.

Here's the first one I'm trying to tackle. It has a slow engine coolant leak. By slow, I mean the "Low Coolant" ding comes up every 2 weeks-ish. As soon as I fill the overflow to the full line, after another 2 weeks it comes back on.

I got underneath the jeep, and can see coolant dripping down from right below the fan pulley. There's two connections there, one smaller coolant line that runs to the side of the radiator and has a hex style screw in connection. That's the one that I think is leaking, but it's hard to tell. I can't tell if there's anything above it that could be leaking down on it. It's on the driver's side of the engine compartment, close to the pulley's and the front edge of the oil pan.

I did some searching but turned up nothing. I was hoping someone with more experience might be able to point out of this is a common fault, or just a one-off problem I'm having.

I've attached two pictures (quality isn't too great), but you'll see where it's leaking from at least. The pictures are from me underneath the car, on the driver's side, looking up towards the pulleys.

Any help is GREATLY appreciated. Thanks a ton.
    Attached Images Attached Images

You could have a water pump seal leak. When the seal starts to go it allows coolant to come out of a weep hole on the bottom end of the water pump. If you have an inspection mirror or you can reach in with a small mirror take a look. Or once the engine has cooled down enough reach your hand up in there to touch the bottom of the pump to see if it is wet.

I am not really sure as I do not have a 4.0, but those lines appear to be for the transmission cooler since you said they go into the radiator.