Thread: 5.7L HEMI Oil Change Guide?

Default 5.7L HEMI Oil Change Guide?

Okay, so I'll admit I'm a newb at oil changing...the WK is my first "real" vehicle in which I didn't either take it somewhere for an oil change or have some help.

I've heard the HEMI engine is different due to the filter placement or something. Is there some sort of guide (text or pictures) to changing the oil in the HEMI engine?

A list of the things I'd need to do it myself?

With an engine this specialized/complicated, I'm a bit weary of just taking it to any ole "Jiffy Lube" and don't want to pay the crazy prices a dealership wants to change it. Any tips would be great
    2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
    5.7L HEMI | Inferno Red | NAV/SAT | Off Road Pkg. | Cust. Pref. Pkg. | Mopar iPod Adapter

Go Wolfpack!

Registered

Great topic. I just want to add that my dealer gave me all kinds of smack for doing oil changes outside the dealership. They say the Hemi requires an oil additive that is only available at the Dealer.

Is there any truth to this? They said the warranty could be voided for not having the additive....

Registered

D-C usually specifically recommends that no additives be put into their engines. If you use a high quality, proper weight oil, as recommended in their owners manual, you should have no lubrication or operations issues.

Recommend that you keep your receipts for oil purchase so you can make your case in the event a warranty issue arises.

As a side note, most of the dealership prices for oil changes and routine maintenance have come down to meet the market. Call around for prices, you might be surprised. :pablo:

Registered

You shouldn't even need to Jack the jeep up to do the change. Nor do you need to remove any skid plates etc.

1. Remove drain plug and drain oil into suitable container (7 qts in the Hemi)
    2. Replace drain plug, do not over tighten.