Thread: Dana 44 Weaknesses

Default Dana 44 Weaknesses

I am just beginning to work on a Dana 44 out of a Comanche (right width, right bolt circle, bigger brakes, getting new brackets) to put it on my TJ. Does anybody know of any particular weaknesses I should be addressing in the 44 as I am rebuilding it? I am looking at doing 5.39 gears to get back essentially stock performance (35" tires) and this would mean removing the Dana 30 in front and putting a 44 in there also. so the questions are...

1. Where do the Dana 44 gears start to become weaker as the gears get lower? 4.88? 5.39? 5.89?

2. How strong is the carrier? Do they stand up well to a Lock-Rite? or do I need to put in a Detroit (which I might anyway, but I am real curious if they stand up to a Lock-Rite OK)?

3. Are there any other known Dana 44 problems (bearings, tubes bending, etc.) that I need to know of and address?

Thanks!

98 TJ, 4 cyl, 35" tires, 4:1, 4" sus lift, 1" BL/MM

My tubes started to spin, not much and they didn't move out of place so I had them welded.

Ross
    2001 TJ, 6 cly, dana 44, 5spd, 33 TrXus MTs, tera 3st, ome shocks, warn HS9500i, OYR Side Panels, ARBs Front and Rear, 4.56 gears, Tera Belly, 1"bl, 1.5"mm, Jim Reel Drive shaft.

UK or engerland as it is known on the terraces

Lockrite will not really work with 35's due to leverage problems, they will act as an open diff.
    the axle you are looking at is miles better than a 35, It should handle those gears, but I would question that you need to go to 5.39 for stock performance, a I6, 4l manual will be close to stock with 4.56 only with 35's.
    I am not sure when D44 get "weaker" as such wih gearing, I always thought D44's started to break with higher gearing more because higher gearing usually meant taller tyres and it was this that put too much strain on the axle, I could be wrong and I am sure others will point this out
    From the home
    of warm beer